Student-Contributed Wiki

An awesome team of students from our education program made this wiki.

I pressed the power button, but the device won’t turn on or have any reaction and I can’t see anything on the big screen.

Check to see if you actually pressed the power button first, if you are still not seeing anything on the screen, check to see if your Nvidia Shield is connected to the big screen through HDMI/DisplayPort.

Check if your power cord is plugged in for both the I/O board on the device and the outlet.

Your I/O board may be faulty and your device is not being powered on. Consider checking the replacement guide on how to replace the I/O board on the device

My device won’t read or recognize my USB insert.

Clean both USB insert and port with preferably alcohol wipes or a clean rag.

Try connecting the USB device you are trying to insert into another device to see if the problem is with the USB device. If that’s not the issue, your I/O board on the Nvidia Shield may need to be replaced.

My device makes a lot of whirring when I turn it on and use it.

Use a compressed air duster around the fans to get rid of the accumulated debris.

My device shuts down minutes after I turn it on, or my device has an extremely slow reaction to my inputs.

Your Nvidia Shield Pro may have faulty fans/heat sinks, and may need to be replaced.

Your Nvidia Shield Pro may have a faulty hard drive, check the replacement guide on how to replace your hard drive.

The d-pad of my controller does not move when I press down on it.

Clean the D-pad and the area around it with non-alcohol wipes or a clean rag, if you want to make sure it is extra clean, use a compressed air duster to blow out any remaining particulates.

If the D-pad feels extremely loose even after cleaning it, try opening it up and check to see if the D-pad is broken, check the replacement guide to learn how to open up your Nvidia Shield Controller.

Sometimes when I push my controller’s joysticks in a certain direction smoothly, the movement on the screen is irregular or “jittery”.

Clean the area around the thumbsticks with a compressed air duster. If needed, clean the face of the controller with non-alcoholic wipes to ensure that all of the controller’s cavities are clean.

If the thumbsticks are behaving irregularly even after cleaning, try opening it up and check and see if your thumbsticks are broken, the thumbsticks are detachable and replaceable, check the replacement guide to learn how to open up your controller