Logitech Pure-Fi Anywhere Compact Speakers for iPod

purefianywhere-quickstart-guid.pdf

http://www.logitech.com/en-us/409/3290?s

http://www.logitech.com/en-us/support/sp

Disassembly of the Logitech Pure-Fi Anywhere (1-??)

by sam-77 - 9/11/10 6:16 PM

In Reply to: Disassembly of the Logitech Pure-FI Anywhere 2 by zbgamer

I just got my Pure-Fi Anywhere (must be “1,” because it doesn’t say “2” on the box.) apart to both replace the battery (Ebay, $12-$15), and tighten the screw on the swivel leg.

  1. Don’t use a screwdriver or anything steel - you’ll bugar up the plastic if you do. I used the plastic “prying tools” that came with the battery replacement kit for my iPod. I…

  2. Wedged in pretty hard behind the faceplate that encircles all four speakers. This faceplate is about .080" thin. Once I saw that I could force these plastic tools in there, I carefully slid them around and loosened the whole plate. This plate is stuck on with, I guess, some kind of glue - but it remains sticky. I haven’t reassembled anything yet, but I think it will go back on and stick again (careful where you set it).

  3. Removing this thin plate reveals a bunch of screws. You only need to remove the eight black (larger) screws (ignore the six silver (smaller, flathead) screws - they don’t need to come out).

  4. Now for more prying (you got those eight larger screws out, right??) - I used the same plastic “prying tools.” The best spot for this turned out to be: a) on the top; b) the side OPPOSITE of all the control buttons (power, volume, shuffle, etc.) – halfway between the middle (iPod cradle) and the end (the opening is about 1/2" back from the front of the speakers. I forced the plastic tool in there, then twisted it and the two pieces seperated (with some effort)(you did remove those screws, right?). I worked the plastic prying tool around CAREFULLY, and eventually had complete success in seperating these two pieces. The wires from the battery are the only thing now connecting the two pieces together.

If you went this far, you don’t need me to tell you about the battery or how to tighten the feet. But I DO want to express my irritation at the “expert” at the Logitech forum site: He told a questioner that “you don’t want to open up the speakers, it will reduce the acoustics if you do…” Again, if you’ve gone this far, you can see that nothing done here could have anymore adverse affect on the acoustics than opening your car’s trunk would affect the car speakers in the back.

http://forums.cnet.com/7723-7596_102-399